Le Rane di Ficarra e Picone Streaming | HD Raoul Walsh's The Big Trail | Born to Kill
 
Rate this book

Anatomy Of A Girl Gang (2013)

by Ashley Little(Favorite Author)
3.74 of 5 Votes: 4
ISBN
1551525291 (ISBN13: 9781551525297)
languge
English
publisher
Arsenal Pulp Press
review 1: A should read, and a good read. This drama flips by chapter from character to character in an east side Vancouver girl gang. Excellent character development. Though it is a work of fiction it is an interesting peek into the lives of a few girls on the east side and their struggle to survive. Though the graphic violence was minimal, I found it hard to read from my sheltered, somewhat naive perspective on life. An eye opener that appears from what I could learn to be well researched.
review 2: Little, Ashley. Anatomy of a Girl Gang. Arsenal Pulp Press. 2014. $16.95. 254p. SC 9781551525297.Anatomy of a Girl Gang tells the story of a gang of girls in Vancouver who call themselves the Black Roses. Originally bonded together to make up for what each has lost in
... more her own life, the gang quickly escalates to violence and crime. Told in chapters alternating among the gang members, this urban tale of gang culture will have readers turning the pages even after they’ve guessed at the ending.Little manages a feat few others have done: her narrating characters’ voices read differently from each other. Chapters that tell the same story from different perspectives truly sound different, and Little has managed to capture the voice of an urban gang, the reasons the girls would join, and how the gang devolved into violence. This book has a dark tone, and the gritty writing style perfectly matches the story being told. The novel packs an emotional punch and is a recommended read for anyone who works with young adults in urban settings. This book would be a good addition to an adult collection at a public library, but would also do well as a “grown-up” read-alike for S.E. Hinton’s The Outsiders. less
Reviews (see all)
yoly
Been awhile since I've read a book in a single day
Maddie
A female Outsiders for the new millennium.
Eza
Powerful, intense, heart-wrenching. Wow.
haley
JESUS. CHRIST.That is all.
Write review
Review will shown on site after approval.
(Review will shown on site after approval)
Other books by Ashley Little